Qompendium is an evolving and ever-changing platform for philosophy, art, culture and science, represented by a series of print publications: magazines, books and monographs. Furthermore, it is enriched by a gallery concept, a work shop and a fast-moving online portal.

peter saville, joy division

Art, Design, Artefacts

Found on Flickr: CP 1919
Wednesday, 12.05.2010

Joy Division, an English rock band formed in 1976 originally named Warsaw, the band primarily consisted of Ian Curtis, Bernard Sumner, Peter Hook and Stephen Morris.

Their legendary front cover image comes from an edition of the Cambridge Encyclopedia of Astronomy, and was originally drawn with black lines on a white background. It presents successive pulses from the first pulsar discovered, PSR B1919+21 – often referred to in the context of this album by its older name, CP 1919. The image was suggested by drummer Stephen Morris and the cover design is credited to Joy Division, Peter Saville and Chris Mathan.


Found on Flickr.

 You are using Internet Explorer 6, this page does not support that old browser. Please use Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer 8